About Us




The devolution of the Department of Tourism to the ARMM Administration was based on the Executive Order No. 425 signed by then President CORAZON C. AQUINO on October 12, 1990; and Republic Act 9054, Article XII, Section 35 and 36.


The Department of Tourism in the Autonomous Regionin Muslim Mindanao is the primary government agency charged with the responsibility to encourage, promote and develop tourism as a major socio-economic industry to generate foreign currency and employment and to spread the benefits of tourism to a wider segment of the population with the support, assistance and cooperation of both private and public sector and to ensure the safe, convenient, enjoyable stay and travel of foreign and domestic tourist in the region.


The Autonomous Region as a major cultural historical and eco-tourism travel destination in the East-Asean countries with sustainable balanced growth and established Tourism-Friendly Communities.


1.       Promotion and preservation of cultural heritage through festival celebration and exposition;
2.      Creation of Tourism-Friendly communities;
3.      Promotion of Historical Landmarks;
4.      Foster linkage with national and international communities;
5.      Promotion of Eco-Tourism;
6.      Development of Tourism Advocacy and Services.


1.      To develop and promote cultural festivals;
2.      Rehabilitation and Restoration of Historical Landmarks;
3.      Development of tourism access roads;
4.      Establish Cultural Heritage Center;
5.      Develop tourism public resort;
6.      Develop Tourist Assistance Center;
7.      Establish tourism infrastructure facilities;
8.      Establish Tourism Cluster Operating Center;
9.      Organize Tourism Councils and Homestay facilities;
10.  Strengthen tourism advocacy;
11.  Strengthen Local, National and International linkages;
12.  Strengthen BIMP-EAGA participation and cooperation;
13.   Build entrepreneurial capability;
14.   Establish a sustainable tourism council at local level;
15.   Develop manpower capability.


1.      To be one of the major cultural, historical and eco-tourism destinations in Mindanao.
2.      Sustainable growth and cultural solidarity.
3.      Create Tourism-Friendly communities.
4.      Gain National and International recognition and patronage.


The Department has 30 personnel, one is coterminous and the rest are permanent.  It is composed of two divisions, the Tourism Promotion and Operations Division and the Administrative Support and Finance Division.

Depicted hereunder are the DOT-ARMM present positions:


Office of the Regional Secretary

Regional Cabinet Secretary
Administrative assistant III (Secretary)

Assistance Regional Secretary

Tourism Promotions and Operations Division

Chief Tourism Operations Officer
Supervising Tourism Operations Officer
Senior Tourism Operations Officer
Tourism Operations Officer II
Tourism Operations Officer I
Project Evaluation Officer II
Tourism Operations Officer I

Administration Support and Finance Division

Chief administrative Officer
Administrative Officer IV (Budget and HRMO)
Accountant II
Administrative Officer III (Cashier)
Administrative Officer I ( Supply)
Administrative aide VI (Clerk III)
Administrative Aide IV (Driver)
Administrative Aide III (Clerk I)
Administrative Aide II (Messenger)
Administrative Aide I ( Utility Worker)

Mainland Provinces (Maguindanao and Lanao del Sur)
·         Rich cultural and natural heritage;
·         Wide range of exotic natural tourist spot;
·         Cultural and religious affinity with Middle East and East-Asean countries;
·         Strategic airports and seaports;
·         Proximity to BIMP-EAGA and other Asean countries;
·         Availability of telecommunication facilities;
·         Cheap hydro-based power;
·         Competitive skilled labor resources;
·         Strategically located along the North-Eastern Mindanao Tourism Corridor;
·         Rich flora and fauna;
·         World renown mountain lake (Lake Lanao of Lanao del Sur);
·         The Rio Grande de Mindanao and Indigenous Arts;
·         Miles of white coastal and island beaches.

Island Provinces (Sulu, Basilan, Tawi-Tawi)
·         Rich and unique culture and history;
·         Rich marine resources and diving sites;
·         Exotic island beaches and caves;
·         The house of “Sea People”;
·         Beautiful and mystical mountain ranges;
·         Proximity of BIMP-EAGA and other Asean countries;
·         Abundance of exotic fruits;
·         Cultural and religious affinity with Middle-East and East-Asean nations.

Endowed with luscious range of flora and fauna, pristine white beaches, crystalline spring water and towering waterfalls, ARMM offers every visitors the delights of paradise.

For a spectacular and well-spend holiday trip, one may choose one or all of the region’s many island hideaways:  Gusong Reef, Bongao, Simunul, Sangay-Siopao Island, ManukMangkaw or Musa Island, Sibutu Island, Languyan, TubigIndanan and Turtle Island in Tawi-Tawi;Siasi Island, Pandami Island, Pata Island,Pangutaran Island, PanglimaTahil, Jolo in Sulu;  Malamawi Island in Basilan; Bongo Island in Maguindanao; Twin Islets of Lake Lano in Lanao del Sur.
For breathtaking scene, Bongao Peak in Tawi-Tawi offers a balcony for a panoramic view of miles-long stretch of glistening shorelines and specks of isles from a distance.

In Sulu, visitors can experience the echo of the heroic glories of the past with a glimpse of the Walled City, remnants of the American Cavalry monument and Sulu Museum with its display of valuable artifacts and rich historical documents.
Basilan offers a picturesque scene of its fascinating waterfalls and fine-white sandy beaches.
Historical sights, river safaris, inland and sea shore resorts and recreation as well as elegant craft and cultural dances are what Maguindanao boasts.
Lanao del Sur is not left behind with its mystical mountainous beauty and springs and wild rivers, calm lakes and sleeping beauty formed out of the undulating heaps of hills and mountain usually contained with dawn and twilight creamy fogs.

·         Lami-Lamihan Festival – Lamitan City ( June 26-270
·         Maligay Festival – Sulu ( Every Islamic New Year)
·         Pangalay Festival – Jolo, Sulu
·         Seaweed Festival – Tawi-Tawi (September 25)
·         Sheik KarimuMakhdum Festival – Simunul, Tawi-Tawi ( November 7)
·         Kalilang Sa Ranao – Marawi City (April 15)
·         Kariyala Festival – Wao, Lanao del Sur (February 22)
·         Meguyaya Festival – Upi, Maguindanao
·         Tagunggo Festival – Buluan, Maguindanao (December 25)
·         ShariffKabunsuan Festival – Maguindanao ( December 19)
·         Padang-Padang Festival – Parang, Maguindanao
·         Corn Festival – Upi, Maguindanao (June 19)

·         Native Handicrafts
·         Brass Arts and Brass Wares
·         Cultural Armaments ( Kris, Knives, Shields and Others)
·         Ethnic Musical Instruments
·         Special Woven Malong (Tube Cloth), Mats and Others)
·         Handicrafts Textiles and Materials
·         Colourful Native Decors
·         Furniture and Other Woodcrafts
·         Native Foods and Delicacies/Cuisines

No comments:

Post a Comment